Dare I say it?? Christmas is approaching!

I subscribe to Quilters Newsletter magazine.

019

They had a ‘good deal’ on their subscription last year, and so I treated myself to a one year term.  It has proven to be a good read as well as a good deal.   The most recent issue had a foundation pieced Christmas tree that caught my eye.

020 As it can be done week by week, it made me think it could be a do-able project, and if I caught up with the sewing I could complete it by the end of October.

I decided to download the weekly patterns, and use the Christmas fabrics in my stash – of which I have quite a few acquired over the years.

011 It is interesting looking back on the ones I have accumulated – from the ‘traditional’ reds and greens and golds to the more modern and the ‘country’ look.

009

They will all work – I hope.

For the past few weeks I have been foundation piecing like mad.

014

It is a messy business!!

023

It’s made me search out some small prints and not use the bigger ones in this project.

022But the results are fun!

008 I have been searching out some very tiny ‘conversation’ prints:

016And I have been sewing with Aurifil Ne 40 (the green spool).  For me it has the strength to cope with patterns printed on paper.

024

I hope to be able to show the completed top by the end of the year.  I guess this means I have started another project – darn!

2 Responses

  1. No “darn” about this project. Looks like you’ll have a great little Christmas quilt when you are done. I’m not fond of paper piecing, but I could see tackling it for this project. Like the blocks you’ve finished so far. My tree might have fewer ornaments and more “green” space.

    • I appreciate your comments Brenda. I was ‘darning’ because I have started another project! However when you have to keep up with the patterns each week, I am determined to be on top of this one by the end of the lessons. Some of the foundations are a bit tricky, but when you are making 8 or 10 of each one it becomes easier. I haven’t purchased by background fabric (in the picture their red/white) yet or the borders, as I want to see what the blocks look like on the tree.

Leave a Reply

