Hoopla 2

Last month I blogged about displaying work in hoops. Today I want to share another project displayed this way.

I love working with wool felt and Aurifil Cotton Mako Ne 12 (on the red spool).  I love the colours available and the ease of sewing. The cotton just glides through the fabric. Aurifil Lana (Australian wool and acrylic mix, also 12 weight and on a red spool) is also ideal for this work.  I decided to make a hanging using  my collection of wool felt in bright cheerful colours and a selection of co-ordinating Aurifil Cotton Ne 12 threads.

I gathered some resources for inspiration and technical know-how and started designing my project.  I especially found the work of Wendy Williams (http://www.flyingfishkits.com.au) and Sue Spargo (http://www.suespargo.com) helpful.

Hoopla 2 Blog 014 edit

Design inspiration

I drafted my design on paper to give me an idea of placement and proportion, though as you might notice, I later changed some of the embellishment details.

Hoopla 2 Blog 013 edit

A rough draft which I later altered.

I like the addition of rick rack in my projects and so I incorporated this here.

hoopla 2 001 frame edit

Using rick rack for the stems.

Next came the first flowers.

Hoopla 2 Blog 004 edit

Arranging the flower components and selecting the thread colour.

Hoopla 2 Blog 011 edit

Adding the embroidery.

 

Then some  leaves.

Hoopla 2 Blog 015 edit

Adding and embellishing leaves.

Hoopla 2 Blog 016 edit

Two different leaves and a stem.

I created a large flower.

Hoopla 2 Blog 010 edit

Adding embroidery to the large flower.

When I had completed all my stitching I needed to place my work into its hoop and back it.

Hoopla 2 Blog 019edit

Securing my work in the hoop.

I described this process in my previous post. https://alwaysquilting.wordpress.com/2015/06/19/hoopla/

Hoopla 2 Blog 018 edit

Stitching on the felt backing.

My hanging is complete.

Hoopla 2 Blog edit

This was such a delightful little project to make, I’ll definitely be making more items like this!

3 Responses

  1. Great job! I’m not an embroiderer but can admire your beautiful stitching.

  2. I just love this. I have an old hoop and I am going to create something! Thanks for the inspiration

Leave a Reply

