Sewing holiday

I’ve been away over January.  I wonder if you can guess where  from the photos?
003
Is it an English Country Garden?005
I think not – given the time of the year and the season!

Perhaps it is another country with this magnificent gum tree in flower?
152
Or maybe it is a tropical island?
151
No – none of the above. I attended the New Zealand Quilt Symposium Manawatu held in Palmerston North.146

I had a wonderful time and was able to do a two day classes with Karen Stone from the USA in “Clam Session – the decorative one-patch”.  Just so much fun and so many inspirational ideas to go away with.

Part of Karen’s quilt:

197
and the colour combination of fabrics I worked on:

254

A long way to go with this quilt!
I also had a workshop for two days with Adrienne Walker of New Zealand called “Wind Fall” making an autumnal wall quilt.

266
and my leaf being constructed under machine.  It was a very steep learning curve!
285
I loved the week I spent at the Symposium, and next month I’ll ‘bore’ you with more photos from my time away and perhaps some photos of my “works in progress”.

Well done to the amazing Manawatu Symposium committee – all volunteers – who work extremely hard and so ‘professionally’ to make the symposium so successful.

One Response

  1. There’s nothing boring about these photos, Ladybirdee – so please share! And I’d love to see more of your class project quilts!

Leave a Reply

