Always Playing with Fussy Cutting

Recently I have made some miniature quilts, one of which is made from 1/2 inch hexagons.  I wanted to be able to engage in  some fussy cutting, so I deliberately chose a fabric which would give me plenty of opportunities to do this.

Spring 2014 026

Feature fabric for fussy cut hexagons.

I had great fun playing with the fabric to obtain 9 different little “flowers”.

 

Spring 2014 027

A little “flower” in the making.

 

Spring 2014 028

Another “flower”.

Once I had constructed 9 little flowers, I arranged them on the background fabric.  I decided to use a whole piece of fabric for the background, but I could also have pieced the background. I used Aurifil Cotton Mako Ne 50 (on the orange spool) to create ‘invisible” applique stitches.

 

sewing- blog Nov 2014 003

Arranging and appliqueing the flowers to the background.

When all the flowers were in place, I machine quilted in the ditch around each one, and also quilted a small hexagon, the same size as the components of the flower (i.e. 1/2  inch), in the spaces between them. For the quilting I used Aurifil Cotton Mako Ne 40 thread (on the green spool).

 

sewing- blog Nov 2014 006

Machine quilting the mini quilt.

Finally, I added some stripey binding and a rod pocket for hanging the quilt.

sewing- blog Nov 2014 009

Sewing on the binding.

I had purchased 40cm of feature fabric, which gave me enough to make the hexagons and back the quilt (which measures 13 inches square). There is not much left over, and what does remain is very holey!!

 

sewing- blog Nov 2014 058

Not much fabric left over.

 

sewing- blog Nov 2014 035

Small rod pocket for hanging the quilt.

 

Ta Da!  My miniature quilt is finished and ready to display.

 

sewing- blog Nov 2014 037

Completed miniature hexagon quilt.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response

  1. Neat idea!

Leave a Reply

