Choosing a Quilting Thread Colour for a Scrap Quilt

The one thing that ALL patchworkers have in common is scrap fabric. Some discard their scraps and others collect and save them as precious fabric morsels. I consider my scrap collection as somewhere in between.

I will however save my scrap organization methods for another blog because I have just finished a ‘scrapy’ quilt top and I want to talk about my thread choice for quilting.

Quilt layers ready to quilt

Quilt layers ready to quilt

The block pattern is ‘Square in a Square’ and each block is color co-ordinated with itself.

Quilt Block Colours

Quilt Block colours 5

Colours for each block 1

Colour Block 3

Colour Block 2

I had just enough blue fabric left over from another project to make sashing strips and enough brown print for the setting squares. Aurifil 28wt Cotton Mako thread in colour 2735 is, I think, the perfect match for the sashing.

Quilting Thread Matches Sashing Fabric

Quilting Thread Matches Sashing Fabric

 

Aurifil 28wt Cotton Mako

Aurifil 28wt Cotton Mako

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am hand quilting a 1/4″ from all the seams and I think it will look just fine.

First Hand Quilted Block Completed

First Hand Quilted Block Completed

How do you choose a quilting thread colour for your scrapy quilts?

 

Leave a Reply

