Red, White and Blue

 

Many colours in our lives have special significance. Some colours reflect age old traditions and some reflect new and exciting trends.

I am the proud owner of a red, white and blue quilt. When I moved away from the Midwest in America, my quilting friends made this delightful quilt. It came with plenty of room for signatures and thoughtful phrases.

 

Red, White and Blue Goodbye Quilt

Red, White and Blue Goodbye Quilt

Happy messages from dear friends

Happy messages from dear friends

 

Wonderful edge to edge quilting adds texture

Wonderful edge to edge quilting adds texture

Today when I consider making a quilt with red, white and blue fabrics, Aurifil’s variegated threads spring immediately to mind as they give me several choices.

I can use these traditional fabric colours with Aurifil Mako Cotton Colour #3852

Traditional fabrics and thread for patriotic blocks

Traditional fabrics and thread for patriotic blocks

For a more modern look, I match the colours in the Mako Cotton Colour #4647.

Modern Fabric Choices and matching thread

Modern Fabric Choices and matching thread

The next time you want to remember a place or an event with a quilt, try matching your Aurifil thread colour to a Holiday themed quilt or a country’s flag. I’m off right now to gather my red, white and blue fabrics for an Independence Day or maybe a Bastille Day quilt …..

2 Responses

  1. I quilted a red and white maple leaf tale runner with red and white variegated thread, as I have family and friends in Canada…..it was just the thing!

    • Thanks for your comment Jennifer. July 1st is Canada Day and your Maple Leaf table runner sounds like the perfect accessory.

Leave a Reply

