Tuesday Treats- Zentangle Quilting

Remember when we all used to speak on our telephones and doodle on a pad of paper? We were tethered to the wall by the curly phone cord. Some of my best spontaneous designs were created this way. Mobile phones have changed all that, however I have discovered that ‘doodling’ lives on!

My latest book purchase is by Suzanne McNeill CZT (Certified Zentangle Teacher).

???????????????????????????????                                                                                      Suzanne McNeill Zen-sational

Using Suzanne’s book as inspiration, I wanted to experiment with her technique AND practice my free motion quilting. I traced a wine bottle onto some cotton; layered wadding and backing for my quilt ‘sandwich’, and began to stitch.

I used Aurifil Cotton Mako 28wt in my machine. I used a size 90 Jeans needle and Aurifil Cotton Mako 40wt in the bobbin. I love this Aurifil shade of red, it is almost the exact colour of wine in a bottle.

Aurifil 28wt in a favourite colour

Aurifil 28wt in a favourite colour

 

I outlined the bottle.

FMQ Outline

FMQ Outline

I divided the bottle into sections.

Area divided for FMQ

Area divided for FMQ

Each section is treated to a different free motion quilt design.

First section

First section

Second section

Second section

Third Section

Third Section

Fourth Section

Fourth Section

Fifth Section

Fifth Section

Sixth Section

Sixth Section

I even revisited Lori Kennedy’s free motion quilting tutorial.

Final Section

Final Section

I am pleased with the results.  AND I can still chat on my mobile phone…hands free (to quilt) of course.

FMQ8Have a go at Zen-sational Stitching. If you can draw it you can stitch it.

I love my book, and you can find more of Suzanne’s books here:  Suzanne McNeill CZT (Certified Zentangle Teacher).

4 Responses

  1. Looks like fun & good practise for free motion stitching!

    • Thanks for your comment Linda. The list of shapes I want to fill with stitches is growing by the minute….vases, handbags, cars…you get the idea.

Leave a Reply

