Tuesday Treats: Romantic French Hearts

In the run up to Valentine’s Day the team at Always Quilting recently discussed quilts and crafty items that feature hearts.  Later that same day, while browsing Homespun Magazine edition 127, I came across a heart pattern that said, “Make me.”  You understand of course, that when this happens it’s a command, not a request!

Blog hearts 024

I gathered some “makings” which I had in my cupboard and let the creativity happen.

Blog hearts 006

The “makings” for my heart.

I had fun choosing the embellishments I would use.  I added rick rack to the heart with Aurifil Ne 12 for extra effect.

Blog hearts

Adding rick rack with Aurifil Ne 12.

When I filled the heart with hobby fill I also added some dried lavender which makes the heart smell beautiful.   I used Aurifil Ne 40 to sew the heart together. And the completed heart looks like this.

Blog hearts 013

The completed heart.

I enjoyed myself so much I made a second one.

Blog hearts 011

“Makings” for the second heart.

This time I used Aurifil Ne 12 to embellish the braid with French knots.

Blog hearts 003

Adding French knots.

I also added a row of cross-stitch along the fabric join (again with Aurifil Ne 12).

Blog hearts 014

Partially completed heart.

A little key charm, some dimensional applique and voila!

Blog hearts 026

Blog hearts 015

The second heart completed too.

I now have a pair of hearts to hang in my walk in robe…..but I have the sneaking suspicion that others may be added to the family!!

One Response

  1. […] In February this year I blogged about my Romantic French Hearts https://alwaysquilting.wordpress.com/2014/02/11/tuesday-treats-romantic-french-hearts/ […]

Leave a comment