A Happy New Year? Starting AND Finishing a Project in January

I have never finished a brand new project in January before but this one was irresistible. I received a beautiful Jinny Beyer Pixie Runner kit as a Christmas present.

Jinny Beyer border fabrics are always fun to use and this one was no exception. I used my Marti Michell Magic Mirror to “see” what my design would look like before I cut a single piece.

Marti Michell's Magic Mirror

Marti Michell’s Magic Mirror

The centre result cutting 4 triangles from the same design on the fabric

The centre result cutting 4 triangles from the same design on the fabric

The top went together in an evening and I machine quilted a simple 1/8″ outline using Aurifil 40wt Cotton Mako. I used my sewing machine’s walking foot as a guide so there was no need to mark the fabric at all.

My Pixie Runner fits the cupboard perfectly

My Pixie Runner fits the cupboard perfectly

Pixie Runner makes plain pottery look good

Pixie Runner makes plain pottery look good

TA-DA!

The perfect start to 2014.

Tell us about your first finished project for 2014?

Leave a Reply

