Tuesday Treats: A clever way to carry your Aurifil threads

I love a clever idea … especially when it is to do with thread.

When Lois came into the store to add to her thread collection last week she pulled a “necklet” of spools out of her bag to help with the selection of new colours.

Lois had strung her spools of Aurifil together on a ribbon

Lois had strung her spools of Aurifil together on a ribbon

She said she had linked the threads together like this

  • firstly,  so that she had a quick reference for the colours that she already had in her stash
    (maybe she is like me …I’ve been known to buy a book twice because it took my fancy)
  • and secondly so that we would know what colours already belonged to her

Well it took less than five seconds for us to see the possibilities of this idea, and I have already created one necklet of threads to carry around with my latest stitching project.

I've not got much further with the stitching but at least my threads will now stay together until the applique is finished.

I’ve not got much further with the stitching but at least my threads will now stay together until the applique is finished.

Don’t you agree, it is the perfect way to keep spools of thread tidy, and together, for each project that you have under way in your sewing room.

No more lost threads as they roll under a chair, or get left on a table when you pack up the current “carry around” project.

How do you carry the threads for your current project?

Leave a comment to share your clever ideas.

6 Responses

  1. Just like the ones my Mum made for us to play with … and wear … but with thread attached! I still have one of wooden spools which went into the toy box at our house before the first child arrived!
    I have also made one very long one from small spools of thread to go on the Christmas tree in my sewing room.

  2. That is a very clever idea indeed, and no worries about the thread unwinding because the Aurifil spools have got that removal end that you can put the thread end under and then replace. You could get carried away and even wear one as jewellery 🙂

    • Hi Pip,
      I didn’t even think to mention that the end closures would keep the spools tidy, so thank you for commenting.

      I had, however, had a sneaky thought that I could make the staff necklaces to wear at the wholesale trade show later this month ….. shush
      Jenny

  3. wow!!!! so simple yet so handy…….thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

