A Visit with Family and Friends (and Fabric)

After several years in Australia, I finally had the opportunity to visit my family and friends in America.

I am always amazed at the changes that occur in places and people. I expect things to be just as I left them…

For the first time in my life, I had to get a rental car ALL BY MYSELF.  That probably doesn’t sound like a big deal to someone who travels all the time, but for me, it was new territory.

One of the things that made it easier was the destination. I was going to ‘have to’ pass through Paducah, Kentucky on the 1000mile drive to see my dear mother.

Only 71 Miles to go

Only 71 Miles to go

Not the best picture in the world…I was driving with my camera on the steering wheel….notice the empty highway…

I had never been to Paducah and I was determined to go to Hancock’s and the National Quilt Museum.

My heart was pounding as I parked the car

My heart was pounding as I parked the car

After a tiny amount of retail therapy…..

I don't really need anything...yeah, right...

I don’t really need anything…yeah, right…

Turn to the left....

Turn to the left….

Turn to the right....

Turn to the right….

I get back on the road heading further south.

This rocket greets everyone entering the State of Alabama

This rocket greets everyone entering the State of Alabama

A joyful time was spent with my dear mother who has allowed me to borrow a quilt I had made for her from the Fall/Winter 1986 issue of Quiltmaker Magazine. It is hand pieced, hand appliquéd and hand quilted.  The label on the back has the’ finish’ date of 1991!

The Fall/Winter Quiltmaker Magazine

The Fall/Winter Quiltmaker Magazine

Mother said it was too good to use so it still looks like new.

My version of the cover quilt

My version of the cover quilt

A view of the hand quilting from the back

A view of the hand quilting from the back

I left her with several quilts she has promised to ‘use’.

After all that driving I was ready for the long flight back to my Aussie friends and family.

A sight for sore eyes

A sight for sore eyes

Now that I am back in Australia, I am determined to be a tourist more often. We never think to be tourists where we live.  I would love some suggestions of destinations….  (Quilt related, please).

4 Responses

  1. I want to go to Houston Quilt featival one day – we could be company for each other.. Marlene

  2. Sounds like your trip was a success! So happy you made it to the two big attractions in Paducah. That, in itself, was worth getting the rental car on your own!

Leave a Reply

