Tuesday Treats: Stitching is the same the world over

I really enjoyed my whirlwind holiday break to Japan last month.

This temple is in Nara-koen

This temple is in Nara-koen

If you are a regular reader you may have noticed that myescape the office breaks all have one thing in common. ……  I try to go somewhere out of reach of the telephone and computer,

While an international trip doesn’t necessarily meet this criteria, it was easy to get caught up in the travel and ignore the computer for 10 days.

Unlike my friend’s trips to Japan, our trip did not have a textile purpose ….. we were with a group of whisky lovers, touring distilleries.

Whisky tasting can be just as structured as a wine tasting.

Whisky tasting can be just as structured as a wine tasting.

But I did manage the occasional textile “fix”.

This interesting sewing box was on display in the workroom of one of the exhibition homes in the Hida folk village.

This interesting sewing box was on display in the workroom of one of the exhibition homes in the Hida folk village.

I found  some great examples of sewing tools when we visited the Hida Folk Village in Takayama.

The translation described this as a sewing textbook but it looked more like a pattern book.

The translation described this as a sewing textbook but it looked more like a pattern book.

It was also here that I saw my first live koi.

They really did look like the sewing/quilting  designs that I had seen on the “Colour me Quilty” blog.

Such great lips here

Such great lips here

I didn’t find a quilt exhibition on our travels, but I did see some beautiful embroidery on display in the hotel in Tokyo when I went to breakfast one morning.

embroidery

The detail was amazing

embroidery-closeup

It is interesting to see that embroidery stitches, and techniques, are very similar regardless of where you are in the world.

Note the addition of the framing fabric to extend the embroidery so that it could fit evenly into the frame.

Note the addition of the framing fabric to extend the embroidery so that it could fit evenly into the frame.

It was a treat to see these embroidery pieces being used as centre pieces for the breakfast buffet.

blue-embroidery-closeup

And of course, as I hadn’t expected to see a quilt exhibition on this trip, I was constantly on the look out for possible patchwork designs.

Ducks

I am tempted to turn this photo into a thread painted applique.

Leave a Reply

