Tuesday Treats: Where do you find your patchwork and embroidery design inspiration?

I’ve just returned from a whirlwind holiday in Japan and now have a camera full of potential inspiration for patchwork and embroidery designs.

I saw this cover in Osaka

I saw this cover in Osaka

This week I thought I would share some of the Japanese storm water drain covers that could be seen in every town.

This cover features the Deer Park in Nara

This cover features the Deer Park in Nara

Unlike the boring, plain covers, that are found in Australia, the covers in Japan all tell stories about the city / prefecture where they are situated.

Not all storm water covers were round

Not all storm water covers were round

Before I left home I had been told to watch for these covers, but hadn’t expected them to be so attractive.

This is a delightful reminder of the rice that was grown everywhere.

This is a delightful reminder of the rice that was grown everywhere.

The group with whom I was travelling thought I was a touch odd taking photos of drain covers, especially when it was raining … but I didn’t care.

The covers do reflect the history of each region

The covers do reflect the history of each region

I’ve now got a collection of photos that I plan to convert into textiles designs at sometime in the future.

I can imagine some images reproduced as applique, while others would make great embroidery designs stitched out in Cotton Mako’ 12.

There is so much detail on each cover

There is so much detail on each cover

Even the street gardens had beautiful edges.

Sapporo-web

If only our local community services could be given such creative treatments.

I would love some feedback so please leave a comment to tell us which one is your favourite image, or suggest how I can convert one of the images into a textile memory.

5 Responses

  1. Some stunning inspiration there.
    I love architectural details, nature, and just about anything else visual. I try not to copy anything, rather use a large dose of poetic license! Or quilter’s license, which has very few boundaries!

  2. Many people take rubbings of these covers I believe. Good luck with using your inspirational pics to make something quilty.

  3. They are really beautiful, so many discisions which one first…………
    So pleased you had a wonderful time.

Leave a Reply

