A Reproduction WIP (Work in Progress)

Some time ago, I purchased the pattern Queen Square by Sue Ambrose. (A Somerset Patchwork pattern  www.somersetpatchwork.com.au )

I thought this would be an excellent design to use for all the reproduction fabrics I had been collecting.

Queen Square pattern

Queen Square pattern

As you can see from the photo, there are 20 main blocks, comprising three different designs, and two borders.  While some quilters like a totally scrappy look, I prefer a bit of uniformity, which you will notice in my colour/fabric selection.

To construct the blocks I have used a combination of different techniques, including English paper piecing, needle turn applique and tacking over freezer paper. Aurifil Cotton Mako Ne40 and Ne50 threads are suitable for these tasks and enable me to stitch with (almost) invisible stitches. I have used my light-box to trace designs as well as using a placement overlay. You can read a description of the overlay method in my earlier post  https://alwaysquilting.wordpress.com/2012/09/13/design-transfer-dilemma/ 

Queen Square 001

Tracing the design using my light-box.

Queen Square

Placing the applique pieces using a design overlay.

The first block looks like this.

Qld July 2013 057

Block one in construction.

…..and this.

Qld July 2013 056

The first block completed.

The second block design  has twelve blocks, four each of three different colourways.

Queen Square 005

Preparing the hearts by tacking onto freezer paper

The finished blocks look like this…

Queen Square 008

Second block version one.

And this…

Queen Square 002

Second block version two.

And this…

Queen Square 010

Second block version three.

I have not yet completely made the third block, but have prepared all the components by tacking them onto freezer paper and joining them together.  In the picture you can see that I have placed them on the background fabric.  As I sew I will remove the tacking and papers.

Queen Square 001

Third block. The outer ring is pinned ready to sew,. The inner ring is just sitting in place so that I could see how it would look.

This kind of project is a lot of work, but I really enjoy the hand sewing, and it is certainly satisfying seeing it all come together.

Keep watching this blog and I will post more pictures of my Reproduction WIP as I work towards its completion.

2 Responses

  1. I love the Queen Square quilt you are making. Looking forward to seeing the photos of the next blocks.

Leave a Reply

