Sometimes you fall in love

with a special piece of fabric!

When I went to Brisbane to see the wonderful exhibition of quilts from the Victorian and Albert Museum in London held at the Queensland Art Gallery, I was lucky enough to visit a couple of patchwork shops in the city and suburbs.

It always amazes me how these shops can be so different, and yet they are all selling the same product. When you haven’t visited a shop before it is rather like opening a present – you have got no idea what is inside! Some shops immediately have the ‘wow’ factor – whether it is the type of fabric that appeals to me – or the way it has been displayed along with the books, quilt samples and notions. Another shop may have the same attractive fabric, but the ambience of the shop is lacking. Often it is the staff who welcome you to their venue that can make the difference to the visit (and the spending!).

While in Brisbane I fell in love with some Malka Dubrawsky fabric called “Simple Marks Summer” from the Moda range.lovely fabric

I also found some fabric I thought may go well with this called “Juggling Summer” by Brigitte Heitland – Zen Chic’s premier collection for Moda.  The colours are much richer than my photo shows – a beautiful charcoal and black.  Apologies for the basting safety pins!!

004

As I didn’t want make a quilt and just wanted immediate fabric ‘gratification’, I decided to make a table runner for my table.

border and sashing
I suppose what appealed to me with the fabric was the way I could quilt it!

fabric

Always in the back of my mind, is how the top can be quilted,.  as making the top is only part of the journey as quilting completes the project. Of course, I had to use my favourite (well, all Aurifil threads are my favourite!) Cotton Mako Ne 12  (2312 and 2000) for easy peasy quilting – and it even looks interesting on the back despite the lack of ironing (and again, apologies for the colour as this is really a black backing).

backing stitching
Another work in progress, but I am getting there quickly and soon I hope to have a binding on  – and finally photo colours that are nearly accurate!!

border sashing and top

4 Responses

  1. I love Malka’s fabrics and she does a great class on batik on Craftsy too. Haven’t see the Juggling Summer fabric before but really like it too. Great combo.

    • My work colleague has made her “Welcome Block of the Month” using Malka’s fabrics too – though it is a different range. Thanks for posting a comment on the blog – it is always fun when it happens.

  2. Love the fabric choices Heather. Your table runner would go well in my place. Have a great weekend. Marie x

    • Thanks for the comment Marie – always good to learn someone reads the blog! The photos aren’t good on colour as the fabrics are much richer. I am hoping to get more quilting done this weekend, then I can bind it and use it on the table.

Leave a Reply

