A finish in time for Spring

I was pleased to finally complete my ” A Modern Welcome ” Block of the Month we have been doing on the Always Playing with Thread blog. Judy has been posting the instructions each month, and I have been trying to keep up with each step. It has been fun, and although I consider myself to be an experienced quilter, I have enjoyed following her instructions on how to make flying geese or four patches or half square triangles.

I designed a different centre block and have worked with a completely different set of charm squares I was given by Judy.

Ladybirdee's feathered friend applique design

Ladybirdee’s feathered friend applique design

I’ve added another vine, leaves and berries in the right hand side of the block instead of doing some extra embroidery. Here Ne12 Cotton Mako was used.

closeup centre

For the backing I used some of the remaining charm squares and some of the white fabric I used for the front of the quilt.

backing

This modern quilt was sewn in Ne 40 weight Cotton Mako – and was minimally quilted in the same weight of thread. I used 2021 (white), 1125 (blue) and 2524 (violet) – these threads are always a dream to use and I never have problems with them.

threads

I decided to use a different material for the binding than the remainder of the charm squares – I think the Kaffe Fassett fabric cut on the bias picks up the colours of the quilt quite well.
closeup binding

My garden has some beautiful camellias in flower at the moment, and so I couldn’t resist picking two to complement the colours of the quilt.

camelias

When I finished my quilt someone said how spring like it looked. As I don’t have anything for the “spring season” I am happy it looks fresh and light.

Complete quilt

4 Responses

  1. Love it, and the binding is a master stroke, when you see the KF fabric in the piece you would not think that it would work, but it has pulled the whole quilt together. The felt leaves have also added a nice bit of texture as well.

    • I appreciate the positive feedback Pip. As I said in the blog post, I love mixing fabrics together and prefer not to use ranges of fabrics. Having been given this set of charm squares I did enjoy working with the colours, and added a couple of my own to the mix. Wool felt and cotton fabrics are great together and I have been using this combination for quite a few years.

  2. So gorgeous Heather! Really love the bird!!

    • Thanks Marie – it was a quick little quilt to make. I enjoyed designing the bird and gave him lots of spring colours. Using felt for the leaves is quick to do too – no difficult points to applique!

Leave a Reply

