Not for the Faint Hearted

Everyone who reads my contributions to Always Playing With Thread, knows I can’t resist a good BOM (Block of the Month).  They always seem so ‘do-able’.  You only have to make one block per month and then before you know it, you have made a quilt top.

Esther Aliu, a designer, teacher and artist extraordinaire, has begun her newest BOM, Love Entwined. This is an appliqué quilt that is NOT for beginners. Over the next 18 months. I will endeavour to make my version of this exquisite quilt.

I have spent hours choosing fabric finding many pieces in my stash that contain the colours I plan to use.

Fabric for Esther Ailu's Love Entwined

Fabric for Esther Aliu’s Love Entwined

I have my background  fabric ready and I have SOME threads I plan to use as well.

A Favourite fabric with SOME Aurifil 50wt thread

A Favourite fabric with SOME Aurifil 50wt thread

The first block was challenging for me as it contains 32 TINY circles.

I am not happy with them because some of them don’t look round…as the months progress I will, no doubt, become much better at appliquéing small pieces.

Finished (but not perfect) Compass

Finished (but not perfect) Compass

But for now I will continue on and attempt to keep up.

Wish me luck!

If you would like to join the challenge of Esther Aliu’s Love Entwined, go to www.estheraliu.blogspot.com.au.

4 Responses

  1. As I’ve just finished an applique quilt I decided that I would watch everyone else make this quilt and admire all their hard work. You might want to investigate Karen Kay Buckley’s Perfect Circles, they make all the difference in getting really lovely applique circles (even really tiny ones)

    • Thank you for the suggestion of Karen Kay Buckley’s Perfect Circles. Your Kim McLean quilt has beautiful circles. I am inspired and I will persevere.

  2. Absolutely gorgeous …….thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

