“Doors Open” for Patchwork

In May I was in Toronto, Canada on holiday.  It is a beautiful city and it was good to escape a Melbourne winter for some Ontario spring weather.  While in the city,  I was fortunate to find that the 14th “Doors Open” was on the weekend  I was there. At 160 different locations, private city buildings were open to the public for viewing. It was so well organised with helpful volunteer staff  in each location to give  quality information  about the structures.

Naturally, while walking through some of the buildings, I kept looking out for some designs or ideas I could use in my patchwork.   I was delighted when I saw this tiled floor

Image

Then in another building  I saw this foyer floor

Tiled floor Toronto

From another angle this pattern is more obvious

Tiled floor Toronto 2

And around every corner of every room there was another ‘quilt’ just waiting to be made with fabric!

Close up

And finally – the border for the quilt!!

Border

I am told that on 27 and 28  July, Melbourne has public buildings open for viewing http://www.openhousemelbourne.org/ .  So for those of our blog readers who live in Melbourne or will be visiting this month, it may be worth investigating.

5 Responses

  1. Fabulous post Heather Lots of inspiration for medallions. Thanks for sharing Marie

    • I keep thinking of making a version of it Marie – but I still have to finish my Liberated Medallion quilt I started at the wonderful Gwen Marston workshop recently!!

      • I haven’t made any progress since the workshop….check out Debra she blogs at my patchwork palace and is certainly making headway. Have a great day Marie x

  2. Love those floors, what buildings are they in? The top one looks familiar; my son lives in Toronto and I have visited him there a few times.

    • Most of the photos come from Osgoode Hall. I visited quite a few buildings during “Doors Open”, and in some you weren’t allowed to take photos. However, this one you could. Osgoode Hall is “a symbol of law in Ontario” and was opened in 1832.

Leave a Reply

