Tuesday Treats: Sydney Quilt Show

One of the Australian Quilt Markets, the wholesale events for patchwork & textile retailers, is held in Sydney in June and I have always set up an Aurifil exhibit at this event.

A bouquet of Aurifil at our Quilt Market stand

A bouquet of Aurifil at our Quilt Market stand

This year there was an added bonus for us, as the wholesale Quilt Market was held on the last two days of the retail Quilt & Craft show.

The aurifil display at the Australian wholesale Quilt Market held in Sydney

The Aurifil display at the Australian wholesale Quilt Market held in Sydney

Usually the two events are at least a week apart, so it is not possible for me to stay to see the Sydney Quilt Show but this year ….. yipee … the dates coincided.

They were held at venues about two kilometres away from each other but, on Friday, I had four hours free before I had to set up my stand for the wholesale show at Circular Quay so I spent that time looking at the quilt show at Darling Harbour.

One of the many quilts that caught my eye was a “Seven Sisters” quilt designed by Catherine Butterworth.

Catherine's amazing "Seven Sisters" quilt

Catherine’s amazing “Seven Sisters” quilt

Catherine loves beautiful fussy cut piecing and her “Seven Sisters” quilt was stunning.

Love the fussy Cut piecing in Catherine's quilt

Love the fussy Cut piecing in Catherine’s quilt

In her own words, Catherine likes to get just the “right look” to finish her quilts.

The label for Catherine's quilt

The label for Catherine’s quilt

The sashing was the perfect trim for the fussy cut blocks, and of course the tiny detailed quilting was all stitched with Aurifil Cotton Mako’ 50.

Note the fussy cut circle feature in the sashing

Note the fussy cut circle feature in the sashing

I was thrilled to catch up with Catherine during the day so that I could ask her permission to show photos of her quilt here.

Ctherine was working on the demonstration table at the Quilt show

Catherine was working on the demonstration table at the Quilt show

I recognised several other quiltmaker names as being Aurifil users but, under the Exhibition guide lines, I need their permission before I can show you photos, so watch this space.

After spending the morning at the quilt show I had a quick whip around the market hall to catch up with some of the designers, and managed a brief chat with Carol from Cherry Pie Designs & Marg from Marg Low Designs.

Carol from Cherry Pie Designs was featuring her beautiful applique quilts

Carol from Cherry Pie Designs was featuring her beautiful applique quilts

and Marg Low was promoting her new book.

Marg Low Designs on display at the Quilt & Craft show.

Marg Low Designs on display at the Quilt & Craft show.

It has been a satisfying trip to Sydney this year, with the bonus of a quilt exhibition to feed my textile obsession and inspire me to start a new project.

5 Responses

  1. Sisterhood was one of my very favourite quilts at the show!!! I love everything about it. Amazing fussy cutting and the fact that Catherine pieced the sashing and appliqued all those circles was so impressive. A very special quilt!!

  2. Dear Jenny,
    Thank you for your kind comments regarding my “Sisterhood” quilt.
    Catherine

  3. As a keen Aurifil user please feel free to show my quilt – that’s if you took a photo! If not I’ll gladly send you one.
    Chris

    • Hi Chris
      I definitely took a photo of your quilts 🙂
      Thank you for the permission. I also noted that lots of other quilt makers had acknowledged classes with you as the inspiration for their quilts. So congratulations on running such successful classes.

Leave a Reply

