Tuesday Treats: It is still Autumn somewhere in the World

For so many years I lived in northern & central Australia where there are only two seasons, so I delight in the changing seasons in Victoria.

Bright-trees-web

Autumn colours always signal the end of summer, cooler temperatures and rain, time to re-energise and to work inside on creative ideas.

The fallen leaves make beautiful mulch

The fallen leaves make beautiful mulch

The fall colours on the pavement caught my eye one morning and had me wondering what I could stitch.

A traditional embroidery stitche dwith aurifil Lana
A traditional embroidery stitched with Aurifil Lana

I already have some great traditional embroidery  pieces in my collection but, this year, I really want to break away from traditional stitching to create an abstract project.

So the first step for an Autumn collage was to hunt out some autumn coloured threads.

I've collected a pack of threads for my autumn collage

I’ve collected a pack of cotton Mako’ threads for my autumn collage

And some fabric

Will this fabric make a good starting point?

Will this fabric make a good starting point?

You will have to call back at a later date to follow the progress of my Autumn project.

Leave a Reply

