Tuesday Treats: One Aurifil size does NOT have to fit all!

I love reading about how people use Aurifil in their quilts and there are some beautiful quilts (& blogs) out there.

However I have noticed that just about everyone has been blogging about how they have used Cotton Mako’ 50, regardless of the stitching they have been doing.

Here at Always Quilting this makes us feel sad that people are missing out on so much fun by not using the full Cotton Mako range.

There a four thread weights in the Aurifil cotton Mako' range.

There are four thread weights in the Aurifil cotton Mako’ range.

There are four thread weights in the Cotton Mako’ range, so Aurifil has a thread weight perfectly suited to every one of your quilt (textile) projects.

All you have to do, to choose the most suitable thread weight for your current project, is to think about the finished appearance you want for the project.

Cotton Mako' 40 is my favourite "all purpose" thread for piecing and quilting.

Cotton Mako’ 40 (on the green spool base) is my favourite “all purpose” thread for piecing and quilting.

Cotton Mako’ 40 is my favourite “go to” thread for general piecing, and machine quilting, so this is the thread weight that I am featuring here.

Cotton Mako’ 40 is a nice fine thread so it is an ideal choice for patchwork piecing.

Patchwork blocks will end up the exact size as the fine thread prevents seam fold  “creep”  when the seams are pressed to one side.

Machine piecing with Cotton Mako' 40 gives "spot on" block sizing.

Machine piecing with Cotton Mako’ 40 gives “spot on” block sizing.

Hand piecers will also enjoy using Cotton Mako’ 40. The smooth thread slips through the fabric ease.

Hand piecing with Cotton Mako' 40

Hand piecing with Cotton Mako’ 40

I also love using Cotton Mako’ 40 for my machine quilting.

Cotton Mako' 40 gives good results for ditch stitching and cross hatching

Cotton Mako’ 40 gives good results for ditch stitching and cross hatching

Motif  quilting looks good with Cotton Mako’ 40. The thread creates nice texture and has enough presence to look good when stitching a feature design

Cotton Mako' 40 works well when stitching motifs

Cotton Mako’ 40 works well when stitching motifs

or  feathers.

I  love stitching feathers in open spaces!

I love stitching feathers in open spaces!

and more feathers.

Cotton Mako' creates beautiful texture

Cotton Mako’ 40 creates beautiful texture

Cotton Mako’ 40 works equally well when stitching all over background designs,

Background flowers with an echo

Background flowers with an echo

or pantograph designs.

A simple ribbon meander looks good when stitchied with a variegated Cotton Mako' 40

A simple ribbon meander looks good when stitched with a variegated Cotton Mako’ 40

Cotton Mako’ 40 is also fine enough to stitch a close background fill around applique.

Cotton mako' 40 works for both close and open background quilting.

Cotton mako’ 40 works for both close and open background quilting.

However, as with all the threads in the Aurifil range, don’t let yourself be restricted to one crafting method.

A Criswell lace motif stitches out with impact.

A Criswell lace motif stitches out with impact.

Stunning results can be achieved when machine embroidering with Cotton Mako’ 40

Machine embroidery fill stitched out with Cotton mako' 40

Machine embroidery fill stitched out with Cotton Mako’ 40

Machine embroidery lace, made with Cotton Mako’ looks just so right.

Just beautiful

Make your own beautiful lace.

So I encourage you to think beyond Cotton Mako’ 50 for your next project. Start by trying Cotton mako’ 40 and see what you think.

Watch this space for more information about the other three Cotton Mako’ thread weights.

They all have their place in my sewing room so I plan to feature each one in the future

In the meantime, remember that all you have to do to choose the most suitable thread weight for your next project, is to think about the finished appearance that you want for the project.

Visit our online store to see the full 252 colours in the Cotton Mako’ range.

PS: We would welcome your comments and feedback.

4 Responses

  1. […] already written about Cotton Mako’ 40 & Cotton Mako 28 so now it is time to feature Cotton Mako’ […]

  2. […] thread I wrote about then was Cotton Mako’ 40 , so this time I want to highlight what can be achieved with Cotton Mako’ […]

  3. I am building my Aurifil collection but I do find that 50wt is more versatile so most of my threads are 50wt. However, as my quilting improves I enjoy using 40wt more as you can really see the quilting. I only have white in 40wt so will slowly grow my collection. I also have a few colours in 12wt which I LOVE for hand stitching. I only use aurifil now and I agree, the different weights have their merits but I think with most people it is just a matter of taking time to grow their Aurifil stash 🙂

    • Hi Gemma, I think that the best thing about using Aurifil is that we can all find a thread weight to suit our needs, a bit like each person having a favourite patchwork style.

      I am happy to see that, although the 50wt is your favourite, you have been experimenting with some of the other thread weights for some techniques.

Leave a Reply

