Weddings and Aurifil

Well, there is a connection!!

On a very, very hot day in  March (our southern hemisphere summer was extended this year) , there was a wedding celebration in my family.

A very beautiful wedding dress waiting to be worn

A very beautiful wedding dress waiting to be worn

I needed to co-ordinate my mother of the bride (HOW I LOVE WRITING THAT!!) silk dress and jacket with the tie (yet to be purchased) for the father of the bride.

Flowers for bride and bridesmaids just waiting to be used

Flowers for bride and bridesmaids just waiting to be used

I didn’t want to take my ‘ensemble’ with me as I shopped, and the said father of the bride was ‘allowing ‘ me (i.e. I told him I would find something) to make the tie purchase on his behalf.

Now, this is where the spool of AURIFIL comes into this little story!!

Aurifil thread and coathanger

I chose one of the colours from my dress that matched up with an Aurifil spool colour.  The “Official Aurifil Colour” is medium red – but I prefer to call it a more interesting title of “marvellous MELON”!  Once the selection was made, I put the spool in my handbag, and I could easily take it with me as I looked for ties in the menswear departments at the shops.

Despite some difficulties in finding this colour in ties, as most these days seem to be more sombre – or striped (and I didn’t want to choose one honouring a football team), I finally located one. Oh happy wedding day!!

And a tie, just waiting to be worn

And a tie, just waiting to be worn

And yes, we had a wonderful time on the day – despite it reaching 38 degrees and 32 degrees around midnight.  The proud parents of the bride were appropriately ‘colour coordinated”

IMG_7634

One Response

  1. Very clever using thread as your shopping tool for matching colour!
    Congratulations to the bride and groom as well!

Leave a Reply

