2012 Block of the Month and patience

I always smile to myself whenever anyone discovers I make patchwork quilts and they immediately say,” Oh, I could never do that. I don’t have the patience.”

When I am immersed in a project and I have ideas bubbling around in my head, I am ANYTHING but patient.

Even while I am stitching my blocks together I am auditioning design ideas, in my mind, considering colour combinations and border variations. When I completed the December block of my Aurifil 2012 BOM I just couldn’t wait to see how Pat Sloan was going to put the blocks together.

So, I have finished my Aurifil 2012 blocks using my soft rainbow palette as I still had fabric left over. I began to measure and cut and piece….

January

January

February

February

March

March

April

April

May

May

June

June

July

July

August

August

September

September

October

October

November

November

December

December

MY 2012 Aurifil Designer of the Month Completed top

MY 2012 Aurifil Designer of the Month Completed top

 Here is the finished top.

I like the result and I have ample space in my borders for quilting or more decorative embellishments with my Aurifil 12wt thread collection.

When it is quilted and bound I will share a picture later this year.

Want to see more finished quilts?

Sewzalot has finished her quilt and has shared some great images, and a pretty quilt layout

Many others have finished their quilts and shared them on the Aurifil Flickr page

Didn’t collect the patterns in 2012?

It is too late to enter the 2012 competition, but it is not too late to  download the patterns to make your own version of the quilt.

The Cotton Mako’ 12 threads can be purchased from Always Quilting

Don’t get left behind this year, start collecting the 2013 Aurifil Designer of the Month blocks now.

****************************

We also have a BOM, “A Modern Welcome”, beginning here on our blog in the first week of March.

We hope you will join in the fun…..you just have to be patient.

3 Responses

  1. […] finished UFO for April 2014 is the Aurifil 2012 Designer Block of the Month […]

  2. […] You may remember us posting stories about the 2012 Aurifil embroidery block of the month…. Judysew4th made her quilt using Cotton Mako’ 12 and a lovely linen fabric.  Her quilt was finished months ago. […]

  3. Pretty blocks – right now I like the Summer one best. Maybe that’s because it’s snowing here today and cold! It’s funny about that “I don’t have the patience” comment – I’m sure people do not understand the look on my face that follows!

Leave a Reply

