Back to reality after the summer holiday

For some reason, the Australia Day weekend always signifies the end of summer, and holidays, for me.

Australian-flag

I know that we can still expect lots of hot days in February and March, but I still feel as if the “carefree” days of summer are over.

Melbourne icons, the Australian Open flags flying above a Melbourne tram

Melbourne icons, the Australian Open flags flying above a Melbourne tram

There will be no more days playing truant from work to go to the tennis, or cricket,  children go back to school and the rest of us start concentrating on the plans for the new year.

For me, it also means it is time to assess my sewing projects for the year.

Some carry over from the previous year, but many are close to being finished.

I am still working on the Aurifil 2012 Embroidery block of the month, but it will be finished quite soon.

I am still working on the Aurifil 2012 Embroidery block of the month quilt, but it will be finished quite soon.

I like to have several hand work “portable projects” prepared, ready to take to friendship “sit & sew” meetings.

They are also essential for those wasted hours sitting in waiting rooms when travelling or for sitting through some of the sporting events that I attend by “obligation” rather than choice.

This Lana embroidery has been going for sometime but it is also close to being finished.

This Lana embroidery has been going for sometime but it is also close to being finished.

I sort each project into its own bag, with scissors, threads and anything else particular to the project.

It is a simple matter of picking up a bag as I head out the door, but the hand stitching on most of these projects is close to being finished.

This little scissor keeper is a pattern in the making. So watch this space early in the year if you want to make your own version.

This little scissor keeper is a pattern in the making. So watch this space early in the year if you want to make your own version.

I am going to have to set up a new project for 2013.

It would appear that 2012 was an embroidery year so maybe it is time I worked on an applique.

I’ve been collecting patterns for a while,  so where shall I start.

A decision is required ….. let me know what you think.

I have a collection of applique patterns waiting to their turn to become the project of the year.

I have a collection of applique patterns waiting their turn to become the project of the year.

And a final word about Australia Day.  It just wouldn’t be the same without a lamington or two.

Lamingtons are another Australian icon.

Lamingtons are another Australian icon.

5 Responses

  1. Great ideas! I have a question. On the 2012 block shown above what is that shiny stuff? Is it some sort of stabilizer? Do you transfer your design on that instead of directly to the fabric? How do you remove it when you are done?

    • It’s a wash away medium, there are several available some are better than others, just don’t drip persperation on them, your work will look like its got measles!

    • Anne is correct. I use a wash away film to transfer designs on to tricky fabrics like dark colours or the fluffy wool surface that I am stitching here.

      I hadn’t thought about a problem with damp hands in hot weather but I do have a word of caution about the type of pen to use to trace the design.

      Choose a pen that can be used on fabric such as a pigma pen.

      One time I picked up a jelly roll pen by mistake, and the ink bonded with the film in such away that it left flakes of black on the white background when the film was washed away.

      Also, only use this technique on projects that you will be happy to soak in water. Some films dissolve in cold water but some require quite hot water to remove.

  2. Thanks for a lovely post on Australia Day, I really must find a shop nearby that sells Aurafill threads, looking forward to stitching fun in 2013. Annette

Leave a Reply

