Colours of Summer

What are the colours of summer?

Gold or sand or blue for the beaches and seas.   Maybe pink for sunburn.  Sadly, some may think of red and orange colours, for the vicious fires that occur in our land at this time of the year.

In  mid December my walk to work had me not only thinking about Christmas and all the things that needed to be done, but I was also looking at the natural colours around me.   I noticed the wonderful Jacaranda trees come into purple bloom leaving a carpet of mauve on the grass and paths.

Jacarandas showing their purple flowers

Jacarandas showing their purple flowers

As well, there is more mauve  with the agapanthus flowers in the gardens.

More gorgeous purple

More gorgeous Agapanthus purple

To me, these are one of the colours of summer.

A carpet of colour

A carpet of colour

Of course I managed to link this to some “Jacaranda’ Aurifil threads:

Summer colours in threads and braids

In 2013 the Pantone Colour of the Year is revealed, and this year EMERALD was chosen to be the new colour.  “Lively. Radiant. Lush… A colour of elegance and beauty that enhances our sense of well-being, balance and harmony” said the Pantone website.   Today, I looked  around in the Always Quilting store for some emerald items – and found:

Always Quilting store stock - journal, fabric, braids and fabric pen.

Naturally I had no difficulty in finding some beautiful Aurifil threads too

An emerald selection of threads

I think we should all try a little emerald in our world this year!

6 Responses

  1. Totally agree with Jacarandas and Agapanthus being the colours of summer. They are the colours of sunny blue skies and inviting blue water.

  2. Gorgeous! Love the petal photo!

  3. Oh what a funny mistake I made – the weather has made my brain weak, too!

  4. what a great inspirational group of photos for those of us in the N. Hemisphere after the bleakest weak in ages! Thank you, LB!

  5. I like the photo of Yacaranda tree and also the other one! In Milano (Italy) we have not this tree! Surely this year I will do something in emerald! Ciao !

  6. Your photos are beautiful. I think the mauve and the emerald would look lovely together. Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

