Tuesday Treats: Birds are my favourite Christmas decoration

I have previously shared a photo of a Rainbow Lorikeet, the bird that reminds me that summer (& Christmas) is really upon us, so I thought that I would go one step further and show you some of my favourite bird decorations.

I have birds made of fabric,

This is a simple fabric bird shape, but they look great when used in a group

This is a simple fabric bird shape, but they look great when used in a group

and embroidered birds.

This cross stitch bird would also make a lovely pin cushion

This cross stitch bird would also make a lovely pin cushion

I don’t restrict my collection to fabric birds, there are birds made of glass,

I received this glass bird in a Kris Kringle swap one year

I received this glass bird in a Kris Kringle swap one year

and even glittery birds.

I couldn't resist a touch of bling for Christmas

I couldn’t resist a touch of bling for Christmas

I am always on the look out for more bird motifs, & decorations, to add to my collection of  Christmas decorations.

So when I did a web search, I was delighted to find even more bird decorations.  I will be getting out the needle and threads to add to my collection.

It is too late for me to stitch a new bird for the tree this year, but I will certainly have it ready to hang next year:

Amy  Friend used a Sizzix cutter to cut the base shape before she embellished her bird with embroidery.  I love this idea, but I will be using Cotton Mako’ 12 or our Lana wool thread for my embroidery.

I just love this embroidered bird designed by Amy Friend

The article by Martingale about Linda Lum deBono’s Sew Merry and Bright book  featured this great set of bird decorations. I can imagine a tree dressed only in these bright birds:

These colourful birds designed by Linda Lum DeBono are delightful

You can use Jody’s bird tutorial ,  to make an updated version of my fabric birds.

You can download a tutorial to make these birds from Jody Herbert’s blog

Having spent time searching for birdie decorations I am now going to spend some time with needle & thread and fabric to increase my collection.

What about you?

PS: Don’t forget to come back on the weekend to see what KnitsnQuilts has been stitching for her tree.

3 Responses

  1. I just have to share a link to another “funky” bird decoration that I have just found on a blog that I follow:
    http://gonerustic.wordpress.com/2012/12/12/secrets-funky-bird-more-patchwork/

  2. Absolutely lovely and charming-makes me want to do some for my tree!

Leave a Reply

