Done & Dusted!

Well the Australian Quilt Market is over for 2012.

It is amazing that something that can take 4 hours to set up can be pulled down, & packed up, in an hour.

This morning I walked around with the camera so that I could share some of the pretty displays with you.

The templates for the Sizzix system are very tempting.

If I had a business kitting up patterns with fabric, I would be very tempted by the Sizzix cutting system.

I loved the Australian Colour blenders and solids on the Leutenegger stand

Leutenegger had a pretty display of Australian “self print’ fabric colours that read as solids

I’ve quilted lots of quilts designed by Kookaburra Cottage Designs … they are usually available from quilt shops as “Block of the Month” programs, and are a big favourite with grandmas.

However, this lovely owl design hasn’t yet appeared on my quilting machine.

I loved the owl quilt, a design by Kookaburra Cottage Quilts.

There are always a lot fabric distributors at Quilt Market, and I am always envious that they can set up their displays using big panels of fabric, and a vase of flowers.

Whereas we spend hours stitching up samples to display the Aurifil thread range and unpack, and set up, lots of small items to dress our display.

The “Free Spirit” print range from Valori Wells caught my eye on the XLN stand

The last hour of the last day is usually fairly quiet, all the visitors have finished their shopping and the exhibitors are just waiting to pack up ….  except most of us visit with each other to chat and go shopping.

I enjoy catching up with friends at the Australian Quilt Market

I think I always leave with something that I hadn’t planned to buy when I left home in the morning but I am not going to tell you about my purchases today … you will just have to wait until things start arriving in the shop.

Although they are wholesale businesses, you can read more about their products:

Annie’s Designs

J. Leutenegger Pty Ltd

Kookaburra Cottage Quilts

XLN Fabrics

Teddlywinks

2 Responses

  1. We’re really glad you liked our display – shown on that wall was our NEW blenders (called Mystique) 42 colours designed in Australia for Australian Quilters. It was a great show!!

Leave a Reply

