AustraliLANA

I have been having more fun with Aurifil LANA – the user friendly, wool blend thread on a spool. This blog shows how I used Lana as the thread of choice to embroider on linen.   In my stash of ‘vintage’ embroideries and doilies I had a set of three printed with Australian Callistemon designs.

The pre-printed design on linen

The linen came with an old photo to illustrate the colours and some brief stitching instructions.

I then had to work out from the Lana thread chart, and some photos of Callistemons from the computer  what colours I would work my embroidery in.  At this time of the year, the flowers aren’t showing on the trees in my garden.

Some of the colours I used for the embroidery

I used several different Lana colours for the Callistemon flowers, seed pods and the leaves. Even though Aurifil has a huge range of colours to choose from, I greedily wished I could add a few more to the range!! – specifically  a  few more ‘Australian’ colours!!

Usually I prefer not to work with varigated threads, but I found the wool ones were superb – especially when used with the non- varigated ones.   The slight variation was enough to give a subtle change in the embroidery and I will certainly use them again in embroideries.

The colours I used for the seed pods

I hope that embroiderers do try using the Lana threads for linen embroidery – it is so easy to stitch straight from the spool.

2 Responses

  1. I always appreciate some positive feedback – so thank you Judy for your comments. If there had been a variegated red in a suitable “Bottlebrush” colour, I probably would have used it for the flowers as the other two were so good. I now want to buy all of the variegated Lana as they are so useful.

  2. The variegated wool is perfect for the seed pods. The stitching is beautiful as well.

Leave a Reply

