Tangerine, the 2012 colour of the year

The Pantone Colour Institute has just released the 2012 colour of the year: Tangerine Tango

Colour of the year 2012

On their website they write:

“In  2011 “Honeysuckle”, encouraged us to face everyday troubles with verve and vigor. Tangerine Tango, a spirited reddish orange, continues to provide the energy boost we need to recharge and move forward.

Sophisticated but at the same time dramatic and seductive, Tangerine Tango is an orange with a lot of depth to it,” said Leatrice Eiseman, executive director of the Pantone Color Institute®. “Reminiscent of the radiant shadings of a sunset, Tangerine Tango marries the vivaciousness and adrenaline rush of red with the friendliness and warmth of yellow, to form a high-visibility, magnetic hue that emanates heat and energy.”

Wow!  Isn’t it lucky that we have a great selection of tangerine/oranges in the Aurifil Cotton Mako’ range.

A selection of the Tangerine family colours available in the Cotton Mako' colour range

Try transposing the combinations that the Pantone Institute suggests for make up into textile designs:

“An unexpected eye shadow color, Tangerine Tango is a complementary opposite that flatters blue or green eyes. When paired with brown eyes, it brings out an amber cast. “

You could have great fun incorporating these invigorating colours in your textile art works in 2012.

Visit the Always Quilting online store to see the full range of Cotton Mako’ & Lana threads in the Tangerine colour way.

6 Responses

  1. […] wonder whether I should join in the fun and enter a photo of my tangerine Bargello quilt. Jenny's tangerine Bargello […]

  2. […] Pantone Color Institute has come out with their signature color for 2012: Tangerine Tango. Read the story on the Always Quilting (Australia) […]

  3. I am not an orange person, so this will not be my color of the year. Orange is okay as an accent, but only a tiny touch of it. I may have on orange item in my wardrobe and it is left over from when my boys attended high school as orange and black were their school colors. To much like Halloween for me and I do not do Halloween. I can take a little orange in the pumpkins of fall, but only a little. I hope all you orange people enjoy this year’s color.

    • Hi Wanda, I love the way we are all drawn to different colours. I was quite surprised to find that I had so many orange items in my wardrobe … not the bright orange more a burnt soft orange but still orange. I was about to say I don’t use orange in my quilts when I looked up to see a bargello & an attic window quilt that both had a pre-dominant orange theme. Both these quilts were made in the mid 1990’s so I wonder if that was the last time Tangerine, orange by another name, was a “popular” colour?

Leave a Reply

