Christmas Stitcheries

Beginning the embroidery

One of the sewing groups to which I belong was recently involved in making items to sell for charity.  I decided to make some stitchery Christmas decorations. I used Aurifil Cotton Mako 12 and chose some Christmasy colours that appealed.  There are lots of suitable colours in the range, but I selected 2870 (green),2265 (red) and 5022 (gold).  Cotton Mako 12 is thick enough to be able to use as a single thread for the effect I aimed to achieve.

The finished hanging.

To save time I bagged out the hanging and machine quilted 1/4 inch from the edge.  I discovered that the top was not sitting as straight and firmly as I wanted (grrr!) so I inserted a wooden kebab skewer (trimmed to size) along the top.  This did the job beautifully!!

An inserted skewer made a firm top edge.

I also made some hexagonal decorations.

Hexagons too!

All these stitchery patterns and lots of other ideas are in the book Christmas Truffles by Hugs ‘n Kisses.

If you enjoy hand stitchery you might like to take a look at Lynette Anderson’s blog where she has a free Christmas pattern you can download.

Hopefully these little stitcheries will bring cheer to those who purchased them.

3 Responses

  1. Thank you!!
    I enjoyed the stitchery so much I am now planning my next project from the same book.

  2. Love that Santa embroidery.

Leave a Reply

