Always a first time!

There’s always a first time for everything.  I seem to have had a few ‘firsts’ lately.

First occasions can be quite daunting at times  (think the first day at a new job!) but they also give us the opportunity to try new experiences and products, learn new skills  and meet people.

So here I am writing my first blog and using Aurifil thread for the first time.

As you can see, I am hand-sewing hexagons to make a bag, using 40 weight Cotton Mako. I like the way the thread glides easily through the fabric without twists and knots.  And I am also happy that each spool comes in its own cellophane wrapper so that it is kept clean while it sits on the shop shelf.

Making the individual hexagons

 
 I’ve used a pattern designed by Sue from Busy Fingers Patchwork
 
You need to make 15 such hexagons which includes the batting, then join them together to form the bag.  Add handles and buttons and voila! The bag is ready for use.
 

The finished hexagon bag.

If you wish to make a more stable base, you can make a template to fit the base from cardboard.  When you have the dimensions you require, use the template  to cut the shape from templastic.  Cover this with lining fabric and insert it into the base of your bag.
 

Ready for shopping.

Now that I’ve finished this bag, I’m keen to complete another one using the same pattern which has been in UFO status for longer than I’m prepared to divulge!

7 Responses

  1. I’m curios what size the hexagones are in this purse?

  2. […] Always a first time! (alwaysquilting.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterStumbleUponFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  3. Great to see you writing a blog. Hope to see that article on which thread weight for which purpose soon 🙂

  4. Congratulations on your first blog!! You have inspired me to make a similar bag – it looks just so pretty – and what a wonderful Christmas present it would make for someone. The only trouble is, there won’t be time for me to make one this side of Christmas. Perhaps I could get started in the new year!

    • Thank you for this encouragement. It’s a good pattern to use and suits lots of fabric styles from formal traditional looks to funky modern effects. A good reason to make several!!!

Leave a Reply

