Christmas Cheating

I suppose my blog this month should be titled “Christmas Cheater Panel”  as I am showing some quilting I did on a panel I was given.
As I was in a hurry to complete the panel as well as  make some Christmas gifts for my patchwork friends, I did a minimum amount of quilting on the panel.

I also think that the Christmas decorations are only up for such a short period, it is not ‘worth’ the effort in going overboard with the quilting. The beauty and pattern of the panel is the important thing – enhanced by the quilting.

My panel with some Brillo quilting on it.

I used the Brillo – the Aurifil metallic thread to quilt around the letters of the panel, and on some of the other pictures. The spools of Brillo are made of wood, and in themselves an attractive item.  I used a topstitch or metallic needle and took my time quilting – feed dogs down and free motion.
On the other ‘illustrations’, I used some Ne 28 or Ne 50 Cotton to outline some of the details.

Some more of the quilting on the panel

Soon – too soon to me – I will be putting up the Christmas quilts, wall hangings and decorations – and hurriedly completing gifts for my friends.

5 Responses

  1. Very sparkly! Did you have any trouble with breakage? What size needle did you use?

    Teri

    • Thanks for the comment/enquiry Teri. I didn’t have trouble with breakage – as I took my time, and although the process was slow and ‘fiddly’ around the individual letters, I was surprised how easy it was to use the Brillo. I darned to the back the loose starting and finishing threads which does take a bit more time. As you can see in the photo of the ‘swans’ I worked that part quite extensively and had no trouble – so long as I didn’t go too fast. If I had more time, I would do much more quilting on all of the cheater panel. I think I used a 80 sized metallic needle – as I am notorious for snapping finer needles! My colleague at work, Judy, told me recently to try using a Jeans needle for quilting.

  2. Hi Patty, The Cotton Mako’ 12 makes a very nice feature when use for hand stitching and it slips through the quilt “sandwich” very easily.
    Jenny

  3. Oh you clever Ladybirdbee – that metallic around the lettering – in the photo it makes it look like very time-consuming embroidery!

  4. Beautiful. I do this often with cheater panels. Only I like to do hand stitching with the larger weight threads. I use a lot of pearl cotton, and would love to try the #12 Aurifil thread, but have yet to buy any. I do love the 50 weight for piecing and hand applique. It really is a superior product.

Leave a Reply

