Hand Applique with Aurifil 50 wt. Thread

This month I have decided to start a new project. I wanted to have something simple and easy to take along in the car or the train.
Preparation is the key to a portable project so I decided on a hand appliqué block. I will be needle turning my appliqué pieces.

I use a Sewline Marking Pencil to mark around my appliqué shapes and then use my appliqué needle to turn under the seam allowances of the appliqué fabric. The  piece is then stitched onto the background fabric using a blind stitch. For fine, elegant stitching, use a strong needle with a sharp point and Aurifil Cotton Mako 50wt. thread. Your appliqué tools can be found at www.alwaysquilting.com.au.

Leaf ready for appliqué

 The Aurifil Cotton Mako 50wt thread is perfect for appliqué. I am using a golden coloured thread for a patterned fabric and the stitches just disappear into the seam giving me the smooth edge I strive for when hand appliquéing.

The perfect appliqué thread

I can always match my fabrics with 252 colours to choose from.

The perfect thread colour match for each fabric

You can watch me appliqué on this short video!

6 Responses

  1. […] Hand Applique with Aurifil 50 wt. Thread (alwaysquilting.wordpress.com) […]

  2. I absolutely love Aurifil for hand applique. It just dissapears!

  3. What a treat to have an applique lesson from the master JudySew4th! Great camera work too.

    • Thank you Cheryl. I am new to YOU-TUBE but I hope to provide more demonstrations using Aurifil thread. The camera was under the direction of the MOTH. Not a bad effort for his first film. LOL

Leave a Reply

