Variegated Quilting Thread

Variegated Quilting thread is our featured thread for August.

The quilting  thread, Cotton Mako’ 28, comes on the grey spool  just like the solid coloured quilting thread.

Beautiful Blues

When I reach the quilting stage of my quilts, I always audition a variegated thread. I think that initial leaning comes from not being able to narrow down my thread choice to just one colour. I take a small square of the fabric I have used in the patchwork or appliqué and  add some quilting stitches across the surface. The quilt usually ‘tells’ me right away if I am on the right track.

I have been hand quilting the Blue China Jar quilt (designed by Maggie Walker) for several years. I completed this quilt as a Block of the Month making a few changes to personalize it along the way.

China Jars

The variegated thread works so well with all the different blue fabrics. I like the way the colour changes, adding another dimension to the overall  appliquéd pieces.

Interesting Effects using Variegated Thread

I have decided to quilt the outer borders in a cross hatched pattern. The variegated thread blends beautifully with the bold border.

Variegated thread holds it all together

Have a look at our on-line store www.alwaysquilting.com.au and try some of our beautiful variegated quilting threads. It may be just the finishing touch your next quilting projects needs!

One Response

  1. […] Variegated Quilting Thread (alwaysquilting.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

