Castlemaine Applique Group Special Meeting

I was lucky enough to procure a ticket to the special meeting of this group held earlier this month. The meeting was hosted by one of Aurifil’s regional suppliers, Threadbear. www.threadbear.com.au.

The numbers were limited due to space in the Castlemaine Town Hall but there was plenty of room to hand stitch and nibble the goodies on offer. We were even provided with a choice of hot soups at lunch time.

The group had invited some very special guests which included the current owners of Den Haan & Wagenmakers.

Patchwork Shop from Amsterdam

I bought fabric from their shop over 15 years ago and I always felt the fabric was TOO special to use…until I found out they were visiting Australia!!

The Fabrics come in lengths of three different patterns!

I found a pretty pattern in a library book I checked out of my local patchwork group’s collection, Fat Quarter Quilting by Lori Smith. If I am not sure what I want to make with a quantity of fabric, I make a small sampler piece. These small quilts are not too time consuming and the results reveal how colours and patterns work together.

The fabrics have a wonderful richness of colour

 I don’t know why I waited so long to use these special fabrics. I have made a nice little quilt to remember my wonderful trip to Castlemaine and the special visitors.

Ready to Quilt

So, what are you waiting for?? If you have a special fabric that you have been waiting to use, wait no longer…

2 Responses

  1. Ooooh! You’ve made another patchwork top in less than a month. Very pretty, I can’t wait to see how you quilt this one.

    PS: I agree, Threadbear is a lovely shop full of temptations.

  2. Beautiful fabrics – such beautiful blocks Judy!!! This is excellent advice, perfectly illustrated, about not treating those special fabrics like they are too special to use. I’ve been trying to work on this premise myself this past year. I hope you’ll show a photo of the final quilt when it’s finished.

Leave a Reply

