Inspiration for Quilting Designs

Every time I begin work on a new patchwork project I always consider how the piece will be quilted.

I ponder lots of possibilities whilst I measure, cut and sew my pieces.

I am beginning a new market bag for a friend’s birthday and I found the perfect fabric to brighten up her shopping trips.

Fabulous fabric for a Market Carrier Bag

 I will be piecing  the outer bag with a quilted panel, four patch patchwork and some bright trims.

I am using these fun chooks as inspiration for my quilted panel.

Quilting patterns inspired by your fabric

 I will trace this design onto my bag fabric and quilt using a variety of 28wt. Aurifil thread.

Trace quilting design directly onto bag fabric

The threads match the colours in my printed fabric exactly.

Brilliant colours for my quilting

The bag will be constructed as soon as the quilting is finished.

The next time you are stuck for a unique quilting pattern to use in one of your projects, you may not have to look any further than the fabric used in your patchwork.

Watch this space for the finished bag!

One Response

  1. […] original idea of a four-patch design was discarded as I really like this fabric and, in the end, I just […]

Leave a Reply

