The Save My Sanity Week

Some people escape to a 5 star hotel for a spa retreat when they need a break from work.  I go bush camping, away from the telephone, internet and business decisions.

Our campsite in the national park

This year we managed to pick a week of unusually wet & windy weather for our camping escape in the Croajingolong National Park. 

Sometimes the wildlife looked miserable in the heavy rain

  

This is a temperate rainforest in the far east of victoria so, as you can imagine, it is normally very wet. Given the extreme weather last week even the birds looked bedraggled!

I was very pleased to have a down jacket, even if I did look & feel like the Michelin man.

  

I had some hand sewing with me but I didn’t take it out of the bag because, for  most of the time, it was too cold to take off my gloves during the day & there was not enough light at night.

We had about 3 hours each day, between 11am & 2 pm, when the weather was reasonable and it was possible for go for a bush walk to sand dunes, the rivers, beaches & lighthouse.

One of the beach walks in the park

 So instead of stitching, I played with my camera.  I enjoyed taking photos of the stormy skies, scenery and amazing fungi that we saw in the forest.

The weather built up every day

 
I’ve now collected a portfolio of  ideas & textures for future patchwork & quilting designs.

I have never before seen the variety of fungi that we found on this holiday

I had to laugh when we stopped for lunch on the way home and I noticed some knitted fungi in the window of the local wool shop.

These cute knitted fungi were the perfect postscript to a wet holiday

In the end the weather didn’t spoil the holiday.

It was a very relaxing break from work, and I’ve ended up with several collections of photos for future stitching  …. landscape features,  interesting textures, fungi & wild life.

Now I just have to set aside some time to actually play with some fabric & thread.

One Response

  1. […] people on the road in the four days, crossing the Simpson Desert, than we have met on any of our other bush camping, escape work trips. Sand dunes as far as the eye can […]

Leave a Reply

