Capturing those special Quilty photos

Our applique sampler, made with Cotton Mako' Ne 40 (find the pattern in the Freebies Box)

Most people carry a camera around with them everyday, as part of their mobile phone, so it is easy to take a photo of anything that catches your eye. However, as I discovered when I first started taking photos of my quilts, that doesn’t necessarily mean that the “instant” photo will show clear quilting lines, or accurate colours.

Most of us have at least one camera in our collection.

 I am not an expert photographer, but I thought that I would share a few tricks & tips that I‘ve collected that have helped me improve the quality of the digital photos that I take of textiles and threads for my website. 

One of the first things I discovered was that natural light was much better than using the camera flash. When a flash is used it tends to flatten the stitching line so that the beautiful texture, that makes the quilt, is lost and the quilting is difficult to see.

If you want very clear images of the stitching, turn off the flash & try using the macro setting on your camera (this is the setting that has the tulip symbol)

When taking photos using the macro setting, or taking close ups,  a tripod makes a big difference as it holds the camera very still, giving the image a sharp focus.

Cotton Mako' Ne 40 colour 4653 used to fill the leaf with thread painting

Before actually taking the photo, take a critical look through the view finder to check behind the item being photographed. Remove any of the distracting “stuff” and set up a backdrop that will enhance the featured object. Sometimes this may mean a neutral coloured wall and other times it may mean a “stage” setting to create a story.

Yummy, a colourful basket of Aurifil threads

I thought that this was also an opportune time to remind you about our Aurifil photo competition.   Entries don’t close until 28 February 2011 so there is still plenty of time to send in a photo.

Download the guide lines from the Green box to the left of the screen.

Next time I will talk about editing the photos for use on the internet. Your photography hints are always welcome so please send us a comment.

One Response

  1. […] cataloging my father’s photography gear and it reminded me that I had started a thread about taking photos of quilts but had never written the follow-up post, so here it is … my ideas on how to edit photos for […]

Leave a Reply

