A checklist for patchwork classes & workshops

I hadn’t attended a workshop for ages so I really did enjoy a weekend Patchwork Retreat in Bright last year. However I realised that I should have been better organised. 

I had forgotten to make a checklist, so I found that I didn’t have some of the basic equipment with me when it was needed.

Don't forget the instruction book for your sewing machine

I have since written myself a checklist of “stuff” to take to patchwork classes:

  • rotary cutter & mat
  • rulers – either a good sized square or a long ruler
  • small scissors or snips
  • quick-unpick
  • a scrap bag to keep your workspace tidy
  • a basic collection of piecing threads to match your fabrics
  • Sewing machine** & instruction handbook
  • spare machine needles
  • spare bobbins
  • lint brush to keep bobbin race clean
  • machine tools
  • electrical power box**  &/or extension cord 
  • hand sewing needles
  • a cushion for the chair ( I am short so the chairs are never at the best height for me for sewing when at  a workshop)
  • notebook & pen
  • the items requested by the teacher
  • plus I have  a great little iron and ironing mat

I have a great little travel iron that is perfect for taking to patchwork classes.

 NB:  ** Under the Health & Safety Laws in most states, electrical equipment will need to be safety tagged for some venues

This workshop required a mix of decorative and practical piecing threads so I put together a collection of Aurifil Cotton Mako' & Aurilux threads.

The workshop that I attended last year required a lot of cutting & pressing of bias strips before we could start stitching. These tedious tasks were almost enjoyable, as every one in the class showed consideration for the other class members when it came to sharing the ironing & cutting stations.

It put me in mind of the note that had been attached to the class notes at another workshop that I had attended years ago.

This note was headed “Class etiquette” and included the following:

  1. As a courtesy towards the tutor & other class participants turn off,  or put your mobile phone on silent, during class.
  2. Check phone messages during breaks.
  3. Be on time
  4. Do not monopolise the tutor
  5. Be considerate of other people’s workspace
  6. Bring a plastic rubbish bag for your thread trimmings & fabric off cuts.
  7. Enjoy your class and have fun.

A list of simple things,  but they make such a difference to everyone’s enjoyment of the day.

So here we are at the start of the new patchwork year … time to make your own checklist of basic class requirements so that you are ready for your first workshop.

Leave a Reply

