Looking Back and Looking Forward

At this time of the year, I start to think about all the quilting projects, large and small I would like to begin – because there is nothing so wonderful as planning a new quilt!!  Then I remember all the ones I have started over the past year – and still not finished!!!  When I begin to tally  up the list up of incomplete quilts, I get a little overwhelmed .  Despite the thought of all those pieces of fabric just waiting for the needle and thread I decided to post  about one I DID complete for my ‘art group’ during the latter part of last year.

Vases & Urns, made as a project for the Waverley Art Quilt Group

Our subject was “Ancient” and this was a broad, and somewhat open ended topic. Some of our group made amazing A3 sized quilts using fabric and paint and metal etc. As I have a connection with Italy, I decided to choose something from that country.

Working with photographs of jars and vases taken at a museum, I made my quilt with Aurifil threads, fabric pens and fabric. I limited myself to four plain colours – a wonderful burnt orange,  a softer tan, a black and a soft cream.  I had great pleasure in heavily quilting the outline shapes to emphasise the black pen drawings and the vase outlines.

I am looking forward to completing some more smaller quilts this year – and reducing the tally of the dreaded ufos.

One Response

  1. Fabulous. How much you have learnt and how well. I’m proud to have known you at the start of your ‘addiction’. Well done.

Leave a Reply

