A Happy New Year

 

If you take a look at some of our earliest BLOGS you can read all about my plans to make a hexagon shaped table topper with some delicious fabric!
My Fruity Girl kaleidoscope piecing was going so well.

You can imagine my disappointment when my hexagon wasn’t a hexagon at all!! Faced with the reality of making more blocks  I put the project aside.
Over the holiday break I made additional blocks to finally complete the hexagon.

Additional Blocks

A Hexagon at Last

I already had the fabrics for the borders so I was ready to measure, cut, sew and go!

Border Fabrics

I outlined each hexagon with quilting in the ditch and I actually tried some free motion feather quilting in the border.

Free Motion Feathers

Now that the table topper is finished, I can use it for all my special occasions to dress up my table.

It is such a wonderful feeling beginning the NEW YEAR with a finished project!

Finished Hexagon table topper

At this rate, 2011 should be a very productive year!

 

 

5 Responses

  1. […] “Fruity Girl kaleidoscope” hexagon quilt,  featured in a post earlier this year, made the perfect feature on one of our walls. Judy's […]

  2. what a fun project – your twirly hexagons are so lively!

    • Thank you Cheryl. The fabric was so interesting. It was difficult deciding on a motif for the kaleidoscope designs. You are right. It was a lot of fun!

  3. Well done Jenny, it looks great. I have been slack over the holidays. Packed up my machine while waiting for my new sewing cabinet to arrive. hopefully in January then I can sort everything out and start sewing again.

    • Hi Denise

      I can’t take any credit for this gorgeous project, it is all Judy’s work. My patchwork always seems to take a back seat to all the other things that I am doing at work, however I do have 2 projects (don’t want to call them UFOs) that I must get finished this month for my Friendship group.

      Jenny

Leave a Reply

