As the saying goes in the quilt world… “A Fat Quarter is NOT a Body Part!”

I am continuing to organize my sewing area and the storage of fabric has many challenges. I can remember a time when my fabric fit in a hat box but after 26 years of quilting and patchwork….well, I could do with a separate house for all my sewing stuff!
I have discovered some very clever storage options. The shop has some great FQ storage bags. These are wonderful because they hold quite a few FQs AND the zipped top is made of clear plastic. This enables you to see what you have and what you need and they are easily portable.

Fat Quarter Bag

I like to disguise some of my fabric so the family doesn’t see my entire collection.
I found this lovely little chest of drawers at a yard sale and immediately pictured a home for a few bits and pieces.

Fat Quarters in Disguise

FQ hidaway

FQ fit perfectly

For slightly larger pieces I have utilized these canvas units. I found these at a well known Swedish ‘self-assemble’ store but they are available everywhere.

Hanging Storage in the closet

Next week…..I will show you some storage ideas for projects in every state of progress from keeping that special project’s fabric all together to storing finished tops waiting to be quilted.

2 Responses

  1. I wish I could keep my ‘stash’ (which happens to be in tubs) as neat as yours Judy. As it is my birthday soon (well, May) perhaps I will ask for a fat quarter bag (or three) – they look great!!

  2. Oh my goodness, I love your chest of drawers for fat quarters – that’s perfect! I need to find one of those!

Leave a Reply

