Summer Holiday

Happy New Year; Time for a Holiday
Happy New Year everyone.

I love Christmas. It is a time to share with friends and family and eat all those delicious foods we try to avoid the rest of the year.
After all the decorations are put away for another year and all the left overs have been consumed I always feel like a break. This year I was lucky enough to spend a week in Adelaide, South Australia.
I had never been to Adelaide before.The drive was easily done in one day. We took a short detour through Halls Gap in the Grampians and it was well worth the few extra kilometres.

The Grampians Lookout

Victor Harbour was another unmissable detour on our way to Adelaide and if I used my imagination I could almost see The Bay Window , a patchwork shop on Kangaroo Island, somewhere beyond the Camel Train.

Camel Rides in Victor Harbour, South Australia

I try to visit a few quilt shops when I travel and this trip was no exception. The Barossa Quilt and Craft Cottage is the only licensed quilt shop in Australia.

Barossa Quilt and Craft Cottage

This is a wonderful shop and the Gallery behind the fabric shop is not to be missed. You can experience a taste or two of the cellar door offerings while feasting your eyes on a beautiful display of quilts.

Another awe inspiring quilt by Julie Haddrick

I had time to visit Hettie’s Patch as well while in town.

Hettie's Patch in Hindmarsh, South Australia

Hettie’s Patch has three, welcoming rooms of  delight!

Gift ware and French Fabric

Goodies to discover at Hettie's Patch

Lots of trims including pom poms and big ric-rack and FABRIC

To finish up my tourist adventures I always try to visit any museums and libraries. I always come home with more knowledge about the places and people; ideas for more quilts,  and usually more fabric.

South Australia Museum

If you haven’t been to Adelaide, South Australia it is well worth the time. And if you take a side trip in one direction you can take the alternate route on the way home and enjoy a true Australian experience.

The Giant Koala

Leave a Reply

