What happened to October?

Don’t you just love my Irises!

I think it is the first time since I planted them,about 14 years ago, that all 3 colours have flowered at the same time!  The beautiful yellow “Bahloo” iris really supports the tradition that a touch of yellow in the garden (as well as in patchwork) gives the eye, and heart, a lift.  The other 2 colours are “High Waters”, a rich dark blue &  “Jesse’s Song”, a variegated white with a purple edge.  Even the names make me think of the names we give to our textile projects.

Fortunately they are all long flowering varieties so, even though I was away at patchwork events over several weekends in October, I still managed to enjoy the floral display. 

I also enjoyed the North of the Yarra Quilt exhibition early in the month. It is held every second year and for the past few years the exhibition has been at the Eltham Community Centre, a lovely building set in a bush garden on a gentle slope. This location adds to the wonderful ambiance that the Guild creates with their innovative exhibition layout combining a mix of quilts, bags and other small textile objects made by members.  

 I was there as part of the Market Hall. I don’t take the shop travelling very often so, when I do,  I appreciate the opportunity to talk people about Aurifil thread. It is also fun to see everyone inspired to go home to stitch after they have seen the exhibition.

The Always Quilting shop at the North Of the Yarra quilt exhibition 2009

When I have a market stand at quilt shows I try to stock the “travelling shop” with  a variety of Aurifil threads, braids, patchwork & quilting tools, quilt labels, gifty items & greeting cards.

And more of the shop at the NOTY quilt show

As one of the Exhibition sponsors it was also my pleasure to select the winning quilt for the Surface Decoration Category.

I hope you agree with my selection.  I chose this delightful Jacobean candlewick style quilt, embroidered by Lily Sislov and machine quilted by Leanne Kaufmann of Leanne’s Quilting Service. (Photos listed with Lily Sislov’s kind permision)

Lily's Jacobean candlewick style embroidered quilt, the quilt I selected for prize for the surface stitched category

In her quilt description,  Lily says that she used one colour of pearl embroidery thread to stitch out designs from an Anchor “Crewelwork” embroidery book.  Leanne’s quilting design complimented the embroidery perfectly.

A close up view of lily's embroidery & Leanne's quilting

Lily is now the lucky owner of a varied collection of Aurifil threads, the prize for  the category.

A Kit box of 12 standard Cotton Mako' threads

Lily won a Kit box of 12 standard Cotton Mako' threads similar to this box.

  My other October weekend excursion was to join the Waverley Patchwork Guild’s Retreat at Forest Edge, on the edge of the Latrobe River, just out of Neerim. 

I was invited to be the guest shop for the weekend and, although I was officially there  to work, I could enjoy all the usual benefits of a textile retreat.  

The travelling shop at the Waverley Patchwork Retreat

No meals to prepare!
No washing up! 
No housework! 
No need to worry about the weather outside!

Plenty of time to stitch from breakfast to supper!

Jill, Heather, Judy & friends enjoying themselves sewing at the retreat

Lots of laughter!
A themed dinner party!
Lots of entertainment!

Jill, Heather & Judy in diguise at the "Black & White" dinner

I even managed to stitch down 8 leaves on my ongoing appliqué. I started this appliqué 2 years ago, in a class with Mariya Waters. If you ever have the opportunity to take a class with Mariya it is not to be missed. She is a talented and generous teacher who explains the techniques very patiently.

My applique block, started in a class with Mariya Waters

My applique block, started in a class with Mariya Waters

I am almost finished! Only 5 leaf highlights, 7 flower petals and 2 centres left to stitch. Maybe I should start thinking about whether this is going to be a small wall hanging or the centre of a large quilt. I don’t often have a solid block of time on which to work on my own projects. So what luxury to have had an entire weekend to stitch.
3 Responses

  1. […] on the wall hanging that has been one of my “carry around” projects for several years (I wrote about it in November 2009) .   I've finished the applique that I started in a class with Mariya […]

  2. It was a surprise while browsing the net to see my mother’s (Lily Sislov) quilt.
    Since retiring from teaching 2 years ago, I have joined my local patchwork group in Hopetoun and have ‘caught the bug’. I am working on small 3D projects and experimenting with many different ways of fabric decoration. Mum is a great source of advice and supplier of fabric scraps!!

    • Hi Nina
      It is such a small world. Have you seen Lily’s quilt in real life. It was beautifully stitched and was well deserving of the Aurifil prize. The “textile bug” is one worth catching and, as you have already discovered, it is very satisfying to create with thread and fabric.

Leave a Reply

