What fun! I’ve been quilting

I’ve had a great time this week! I’ve been able to quilt virtually undisturbed by other jobs. I always aim to have one week clear of other responsibilities every month so that I can concentrate on my quilting. Like all “best laid plans” … it doesn’t happen every month but it did in September. 

I quilted hidden motifs amongst the swirling background filler stitching in Sue's quilt to reflect the images of her applique

I quilted hidden motifs amongst the swirling background filler stitching in Sue's quilt to reflect the images of her applique

I completed several quilts for customers that included  detailed custom quilting designs plus a couple more with all over (pantograph) designs.  I always try to balance my time spent stitching each quilting style as pantograph designs usually require less intensive stitching than the custom quilting so alternating the jobs reduces the stress on my body (& mind).

However my absolute favourite this month was a small piece that will form a cushion cover. Margaret had made four log cabin blocks, using fabrics leftover from an earlier quilt,  into a  square and I quilted this piece using a feather design from Keryn Emmerson’s “Simply Feathers” collection. There can be nothing more enjoyable than stitching feathers over a log cabin design … two of my favourite things!

Log Cabin & Feathers, two of my favourite things!

Log Cabin & Feathers, two of my favourite things!

The feather design was stitched with Aurifil’s Cotton mako’ Ne 40, a tan colour, No 2335. The colour was rich enough to show over the neutral, outside,  triangles but subtle enough to blend into the dark centre so that it doesn’t distract from the play of  colour created by the fabrics.  Cotton Mako’ Ne 40 is a nice weight for custom quilting, as it is quite fine, so it works well for ditch  stitching (not that I did any here) but can still create a great textural effect for custom quilted motif work.

Leave a Reply

