Dressed at Last!!

Some time ago I purchased a cushion pattern designed by Carol Roberts www cherrypiedesigns.com  My intention was to make a pair of cushions for our “naked” family room sofa.

When we went on holiday in January, I decided this would be a suitable hand project to take with me.

The cushions have some applique which I did using the needle- turn method and some English paper piecing. I used Aurifil Ne 50 thread which is lovely and fine and enables neat stitching.

Constructing the cushion top.

I then used Aurifil Ne 12 thread in a contrasting colour to lightly quilt the tops.  This added definition to the design without overwhelming it.

Adding the quilting.

Once the tops were completed, I joined them to the cushion backs by machine.  The pattern suggested using binding to do this, in the same way you bind the front and back of a quilt.  I had not used this method on a cushion before, but was very pleased with the neat appearance this created.

A finished cushion.

Now my sofa is “dressed”……..but my husband wants to know what I intend to do about the naked armchairs!!

10 Responses

  1. [...] KnitsnQuilts worked on a lot of her favourite appliques [...]

  2. [...] an instant gift, but you could plan ahead to make a beautiful cushion like the one Knitsnquilts made earlier this [...]

  3. [...] of them is “Paris”, a cushion pattern which I made earlier this year and blogged about http://alwaysquilting.wordpress.com/2012/03/02/dressed-at-last.  The other is “Louisa”, a lovely applique quilt.  It has taken me some time to work [...]

  4. I love your choice of calico prints. I’ve always been attracted to blues and reds.

  5. Looks great! I love the idea of binding the edges to finish the cushion, rather than all that messing around sewing from the inside and turning it out.

  6. Your colours are so rich! I really like the idea of referring to furniture without a patchwork item gracing its covers as ‘naked’. You are so clever.

  7. i like your dressing up it is so pretty

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,072 other followers

